How to Obtain a Liquor License in Oklahoma

How to Obtain a Liquor License in Oklahoma
Here's a guide to help you understand the requirements for getting a liquor license in Oklahoma.
by Chidinma Nnamani Mar 08, 2024 — 4 min read
How to Obtain a Liquor License in Oklahoma

This article is for educational purposes and does not constitute legal or tax advice. For specific advice applicable to your business, please contact a professional.

If you’re planning to start a business that sells alcohol in Oklahoma, you’ll need to obtain the applicable liquor license(s). Licenses are issued by the Oklahoma Alcoholic Beverage Laws Enforcement (ABLE) Commission, and it’s important to understand the requirements to get them. And, of course, you need to answer one of the most important questions: How much is a liquor license in Oklahoma?

Getting a liquor license is usually worth the hassle, even if you own a restaurant. Selling alcoholic beverages can help you attract more customers to your restaurant and increase your revenue. Restaurant profit margins for drinks can be as high as 80%, based on pour cost; for bars the margins can be up to 200%

Here’s a guide to help you understand the requirements for getting a liquor license in Oklahoma.

Steps to apply for a liquor license in Oklahoma

1. Determine the type of license you need

Licenses differ based on the type of alcohol you intend to sell and where you want to sell them — on-premises or off-premises. You can serve beer, wine, spirits, all, or a combination of the three.

The most common licenses for restaurants, bars, and grocery stores are:

2. Fill out the application form

Once you’ve determined the license type you need, fill out the general application form. You may also need to fill out an immigration affidavit form

The supporting documentation required depends on the license type. A Sales Tax Permit from the Oklahoma Tax Commission (OTC) is usually required for all applications. If you plan to sell mixed beverages, you may also need a Mixed Beverage Tax Permit. Other tax permits may also be required, depending on your county. 

You may need additional documentation, depending on your business and license type. For example, if you’re serving food on premises, you’ll need a food service license. A food establishment inspection will also be conducted as part of the process.

MORE: How to choose the best POS system for your business

3. Obtain a certificate of compliance

certificate of compliance is required for all Oklahoma liquor license applications. This document is used to determine your compliance with Oklahoma City codes relating to zoning, fire, safety, and health. Supporting documentation required includes:

4. Pay the appropriate fees

Fees vary depending on the type of alcohol and business type. The full list can be accessed here.  

Licenses for spirits are generally more expensive than those for beer and wine. The initial fee for an on-premise beer and wine license is $500, while a license for retail spirits is $1,005. 

5. Submit your application

Once you’ve completed all forms and paid the necessary fees, the final step is to submit your application — online, via post, or in person. Approval times vary depending on the license type and if you’ve provided all the necessary supporting documents. 

MORE: Everything you need to start a restaurant



How much does it cost to get a liquor license in Oklahoma?

The price of an Oklahoma liquor license can vary, depending on what you need. Here’s a fast breakdown of the most common types of alcohol licenses in Oklahoma and their estimated cost as of 2024:









Wine and spirits wholesaler 


Beer distributor 


Retail spirits 


Mixed beverage 

$1,005 ($905 renewal)

On premise beer and wine

$500 ($450 renewal)

Retail beer


Retail wine


Special event


Public event

$1,005 annual, $255 one-time

Winemaker or small brewer self-distribution




Brewpub self-distribution 



How much is a liquor license in Oklahoma?

Before getting your alcohol license in Oklahoma, there are a lot of considerations to keep in mind. Here are some frequently asked questions about getting your liquor license before you start your application.

What are the blue laws in Oklahoma?

Blue laws, also known as “Sunday legislation,” are regulations that prohibit the sale of alcohol on Sundays. In Oklahoma it is illegal in most counties to sell packaged liquor for consumption off premises on Sundays, Thanksgiving, and Christmas.

How much is a one-day liquor license in Oklahoma?

For a special event, a one-time liquor license in Oklahoma costs $255 dollars.

How long does it take to get an Oklahoma liquor license?

Once your application is filled out and approved, it usually takes about 30 days for the Oklahoma Alcohol Beverage Laws Enforcement (ABLE) Commission to issue you a license to sell alcohol in Oklahoma.

Can you give alcohol away for free in Oklahoma?

With a Complimentary Beverage License, you can give away up to two drinks free of charge for on-premises consumption. If you have a different type of license from the ABLE Commission, you are not eligible for a Complimentary Beverage License.

Can food trucks sell alcohol in Oklahoma?

While Oklahoma food trucks can get a temporary liquor license for special events, they do not qualify for a full liquor license.


Chidinma Nnamani
Chidinma Nnamani writes about the food industry, digital marketing, and technology — and explores the fine spaces where they intersect. She works with B2B startups and agencies, helping them deliver clear, actionable, and insightful content for business audiences.


Keep Reading

Tell us a little more about yourself to gain access to the resource.

i Enter your first name.
i Enter your last name.
i Enter a valid email.
i Enter a valid phone number.
i Enter your company name.
i Select estimated annual revenue.
i This field is required.

Thank you!
Check your email for your resource.

Results for

Based on your region, we recommend viewing our website in:

Continue to ->