What You Need to Know About West Virginia’s Minimum Wage in 2023

west virginia minimum wage

Please note that the information contained in this article is limited in scope and is only intended as a high-level overview of the topics discussed. The information is current as of the publication date only, and the laws (and associated agency and/or judicial interpretations) on the topics discussed could change at any point in the future. Block, Inc. (including its affiliates, subsidiaries, employees, officers, directors, attorneys, and tax advisors) undertakes no obligation to update this article for future changes in the law. In addition, laws vary by jurisdiction, and this article does not attempt to address all jurisdictions — for example, states, counties, or cities often have requirements that differ from federal law. Nothing in this article is or should be used as tax or legal advice. In particular, this article cannot be relied upon for the purposes of avoiding taxes, penalties, or other obligations under applicable law. For guidance or advice specific to your business, you should consult with a qualified tax and/or legal professional.

West Virginia is one of the few states that has not passed a law to gradually raise the minimum wage. For small business owners in the state, this is an essential topic.

As an employer, it’s important to keep on top of these changes so you’re paying your employees what is legally required. We pulled together an overview of West Virginia’s current minimum wage laws, as well as some ideas about how to prepare for those costs.

What is the minimum wage in West Virginia?

The minimum wage in West Virginia is $8.75, the same amount per hour as the previous year. As of the writing of this article, this is $1.50 more than the federal minimum wage. While many states increase the minimum wage in accordance with the cost of living or inflation, the last time West Virginia decided to increase its minimum wage was in 2016 when it went up from $8.00 to $8.75. To further understand the minimum wage in West Virginia, you can refer to the latest minimum wage poster.

There are a number of exceptions to the West Virginia minimum wage. Employers may be able to pay tipped employees less than the minimum wage if earned tips make up the difference. Student workers, part-time employees, and workers under 20 years old who are working for an employer for less than 90 days may be eligible to be paid less than the minimum wage. Lastly, an employer with less than six non-exempt employees working at the same separate, distinct, and permanent work location may be able to pay employees less than the minimum wage.

Get started with Square Payroll

Payroll processing trusted by thousands.

How is West Virginia’s minimum wage changing in 2023?

As of the writing of this article, there are currently no proposals that have passed to increase the minimum wage in West Virginia in 2023. As efforts to increase the minimum wage in West Virginia continue to be considered at the state level, it is not yet certain when and how the West Virginia minimum wage will change in the future.

How can West Virginia business owners prepare for changes to the minimum wage?

Even though it may not seem like there are any immediate plans to raise the West Virginia minimum wage, it is still beneficial to be prepared in case there is a change. Here are a few options you may want to consider:

From guides on how to get a free EIN to COVID-19 resources, Square has tools to help your business succeed.