System updates

We’re experiencing issues that may affect your Square services. We’ll continue to update our status page with more information.

Home>Team Management

Team Management Subscription & Pricing

Square team permissions has tools to help you manage your team easily — across locations, devices, and job functions and has a free plan and paid plan, Team Plus.

With Team Management, you can set up a single set of permissions for all team members sharing a point of sale. Once you set up your first set of permissions, your staff can take payments on your behalf without having access to any of your sensitive account information. Learn more about getting started with Team Management.

With Team Plus, you can create unlimited custom permission sets, view activity log information, and get a view of your team’s sales. You can also provide your team with physical team member badges as an alternative to passcodes for logging in, clocking in and out, and providing permissions overrides. Pricing for Team Plus is $35 per month per location.

Team Plus is available at $35 a month per each business location. To get started, sign up for a 30-day free trial here.

What’s Included?

Permissions and Access

Feature Team Management Team Plus
Permissions One set of team permissions Unlimited custom permissions
Personal passcodes ✔️ ✔️
Team member badges ✔️

Team Setup

Feature Team Management Team Plus
Square POS integration ✔️ ✔️
Team roster and management ✔️ ✔️
Delegate team management ✔️ ✔️

Auditing and Insights

Feature Team Management Team Plus
Activity log (events only) ✔️ ✔️
Team attribution on Activity Log events ✔️
Team sales report ✔️

Team Management vs Team Plus

When you sign up for Team Management, you’re able to create an owner passcode for yourself, as well as a single set of permissions (team permissions) that will apply to all your team members. Team members can use personal passcodes to clock in and out and use Square Shifts. Your owner passcode can then be used to override any passcode-related actions taken by your team members.

By signing up for Team Plus, you’ll have access the following features:

  • Unlimited permissions: Create unlimited team roles, each with their own custom permissions.

  • Activity log by team member: Track sensitive actions taken by your team — such as processed refunds, comps/voids, and discounts.

  • You can pair team member badges to individual team members to add an additional layer of security to your account. Badges allow team members to log in to your point of sale based on their assigned permissions and clock in and out for a shift.

Your subscription to Team Plus comes with a 30-day free trial. After your 30-day trial, you’ll be charged a prorated amount for the remainder of the current month for each location using more than one role. Moving forward, Square will charge you $35 on the first of each month for every active location with an assigned team member.

Pause Subscription

You can also pause your subscription or unsubscribe at any time. Similar to a cancellation, each pause is managed per individual subscription. To pause or unsubscribe from your Team Plus subscription:

  1. From your online Square Dashboard, visit Account & Settings

  2. Click Business information > Pricing & Subscriptions.

  3. Under Subscription Pricing, click Manage next to the appropriate subscription.

  4. Click Pause Subscription or Cancel Subscription.

When you pause your subscription, you’ll still have access to paid features for 30 days.

Note: You can pause for up to 3 months and unpause at any time. Any existing team members that have access to shared Team Permissions will continue to have the ability to clock in/out and use the Square app to take payments on your behalf. To learn more about pausing subscriptions, visit our Pause Subscription FAQ.

Downgrade Subscription

If you use Team Plus to manage your team members, but don’t need all of the paid features, you have the option to downgrade your subscription to the free tier of Team Management. To downgrade your subscription:

  1. From your online Square Dashboard, visit Account & Settings

  2. Click Business information > Pricing & Subscriptions.

  3. Under Subscription Pricing, click Manage next to Team Plus.

  4. Select the Team Management option, free of cost.

If you are an account owner or a team member with full access permissions, you can choose to downgrade from Team Plus to the free tier of Team Management and your team members will automatically be reassigned to Team Permissions. If Team Permissions aren’t set up in your online Square Dashboard, you will have the option to set them up for your team members during the downgrade process.

If you are a team member that doesn’t have full access permissions, but you have the Manage and Subscribe to Services permission enabled, you will only have the option to pause or cancel your subscription.

Note: If downgrading your subscription changes team member access points (e.g. Mobile Point of Sale access vs. Shared Point of Sale access), you will be notified that an update to their team member profile is required. For example, if a team member who used Mobile Point of Sale gains access to Shared Point of Sale through reassignment to Team Permissions, you will be alerted to provide them with a 4-digit passcode.

Learn more about managing your Square subscriptions and payment cards.

Start a 30-day free trial of Team Plus