Abandoned Cart Emails
Everyone deserves a second chance - especially you and your customers. We all know that from time to time, customers don’t purchase what they’ve placed in their cart. The reasons are many and varied; sometimes they just weren’t quite sure about the purchase, often it’s simply because they were interrupted and forgot. And that means lost sales for you.
With the Abandoned Cart feature you can give those carts a second chance. When enabled, an email is sent if the customer creates a cart, enters an email in the checkout flow, but then doesn’t complete the order after a predetermined time period. That email includes a link back to the cart where they can complete the order.
The abandoned cart email is sent when:
The customer has made it to the checkout flow and entered an email.
The configured amount of time has passed after the cart was last updated by the customer.
If the customer returns to the cart and purchases items before the configured time, then the email isn’t sent.
If items sell out by the time they return, the cart will not display those, but does display a message stating that something in the cart changed. The same is true if the price of an item in their cart changes.
You can view statistics about abandoned carts via your dashboard at Insights > Sales > Abandoned Carts. Read more about using the Insights feature here.
When you enable Abandoned Cart emails, you set the amount of time that should elapse between the customer leaving the cart and when your email is sent.
To enable the email:
Go to STORE > Orders > Abandoned Carts and click Enable. Set the amount of time that should pass before the email is sent out. You can choose from as little as 20 minutes to as long as two days.
Note: Emails will be sent when a cart is abandoned from this point on. Any carts abandoned prior to enabling the feature will not trigger an email.
The email your customers receive contains the following:
- A Complete Order button that navigates back to their cart in your store.
- Your store name. Your store contact info appears in the footer.
- Each item’s info - image, quantity, and description
You can add more information to these emails and send yourself a preview from Store > Store Emails. Learn more about Store Emails here.
If you no longer want to manage abandoned carts, click Disable from Store > Orders > Abandoned Carts. Going forward, Abandoned Cart emails will no longer be sent.
Note: If there are emails queued up to be sent, disabling the Abandoned Carts feature will cancel them.