System updates

We’re experiencing issues that may affect your Square services. We’ll continue to update our status page with more information.

Back to Home

Abandoned Basket Emails

Everyone deserves a second chance – especially you and your customers. We all know that from time to time, customers don’t purchase what they’ve placed in their cart. The reasons are many and varied; sometimes they just weren’t quite sure about the purchase, often it’s simply because they were interrupted and forgot. And that means lost sales for you.

With the Abandoned Basket feature you can give those baskets a second chance. When enabled, an email is sent if the customer creates a basket, enters an email in the checkout flow, but then doesn’t complete the order after a predetermined time period. That email includes a link back to the basket where they can complete the order.

ac email

The abandoned basket email is sent when:

The customer has made it to the checkout flow and entered an email.
The configured amount of time has passed after the basket was last updated by the customer.

If the customer returns to the basket and purchases items before the configured time, then the email isn’t sent.

If items sell out by the time they return, the basket will not display those, but does display a message stating that something in the basket changed. The same is true if the price of an item in their basket changes.

You can view statistics about abandoned baskets via your dashboard at Insights > Sales > Abandoned Baskets. Read more about using the Insights feature here.

When you enable Abandoned Basket emails, you set the amount of time that should elapse between the customer leaving the basket and when your email is sent.

To enable the email:
Go to STORE > Orders > Abandoned Baskets and click Enable. Set the amount of time that should pass before the email is sent out. You can choose from as little as 20 minutes to as long as two days.

Note: Emails will be sent when a basket is abandoned from this point on. Any baskets abandoned prior to enabling the feature will not trigger an email.

The email your customers receive contains the following:

  • A Complete Order button that navigates back to their basket in your store.

  • Your store name. Your store contact info appears in the footer.

  • Each item’s info – image, quantity and description

You can add more information to these emails and send yourself a preview from Store > Store Emails. Learn more about Store Emails here.

If you no longer want to manage abandoned baskets, click Disable from Store > Orders > Abandoned Baskets. Going forward, Abandoned Basket emails will no longer be sent.

Note: If there are emails queued up to be sent, disabling the Abandoned Baskets feature will cancel them.