Use Employee Management with Open Tickets

With Square’s Employee Management features, you can define your employees’ access to open tickets created from the Square app

Manage Employee Access to Open Tickets

Employee Filtering

With Employee Management, you can allow your employees to view all open tickets created from the Square app, or restrict their access to only tickets they’ve created. By default, employees can only view their tickets. To allow them to filter all employee’s tickets and transfer ownership of their own tickets, enable these features for their permission group:

  1. Visit Employees in your online Square Dashboard.
  2. Click Permission Groups > select a group > check Manage All Open Tickets.
  3. Click Save.

Note: Employee filtering is only available for the Square app on iOS devices. Android devices aren’t currently supported at this time. 

Delete Saved Items 

You can control which employees have permission to delete saved items from open tickets. To turn on this permission:

  1. Visit Employees in your online Square Dashboard.
  2. Click Permission Groups > select a group > check Delete Saved Items in Open Tickets.
  3. Click Save.

Transfer an Open Ticket on an iPad

Your employees can transfer their open tickets to another employee using the Square app on an iPad. To do so:

  1. Tap Tickets > Edit.
  2. Select the ticket(s) to transfer > tap Assign.
  3. Tap an employee name > Assign.

The employee that the ticket is transferred to will receive credit for the sale.

Note: To use this feature, an employee must be assigned to a permission group with Manage All Open Tickets enabled

Still need help? Ask the community

Visit community forum