System updates

We’re experiencing issues that may affect your Square services. We’ll continue to update our status page with more information.

Back to Home

Waitlist With Square Appointments

With a Square Appointments Plus or Premium subscription, you can use waitlist to fill schedule gaps caused by last-minute cancellations or reschedules. It also allows you to:

  • Enable popular staff to capture demand from clients who want to book but are hindered by limited availability.

  • Message clients, add staff notes or remove the client from the waitlist.

Enable Waitlist

  1. From your Square Appointments Dashboard, go to Online Booking > Settings.

  2. Under Waitlist, toggle on Enable waitlist on your online booking site. This setting will apply to all locations.

Once the waitlist is enabled, the prompt “Don’t see your preferred date or time? Join Waitlist” will display to clients on your online booking page.

Learn more about creating a Square Online booking site from Appointments.

View Your Waitlist

You can view your full waitlist and waitlist entry details by going to your online Square Dashboard and selecting Appointments > Waitlist

To view your waitlist from the Square Appointments app, select ≡ More > Waitlist

Note: The link and applet will only display for staff that have the “Manage all staff calendars” permission enabled. Learn more about adjusting staff availability and permissions.

Waitlist Details

On the Waitlist page in your online Square Dashboard, you can view waitlist entries for a specific location through the location selector. Once you select a location, you will see a list of waitlist entries with the following:

  • Date added: the date the client was added to the waitlist

  • Client name

  • Service & Staff

  • Duration: total duration of all services

  • Waitlist preferences, which include: 

    • Client notes: notes the client entered when joining the waitlist through the online booking site

    • Staff notes: notes for staff members

Manage Your Waitlist

Add and Edit Staff Notes

You can add or edit staff notes to communicate client information with staff members.

From your online Square Dashboard:

  1. Select Appointments > Waitlist

  2. Find the waitlist entry you want to edit and click ••• by the entry.

  3. Select Edit.

  4. In the waitlist details, enter your note in the Staff note field.

  5. Click Save.

From your Square Appointments app:

  1. Tap ≡ More > Waitlist.

  2. Find and tap the entry you want to edit.

  3. Tap ••• in the upper left.

  4. Scroll and find the Staff note field and enter your note.

  5. Tap Save.

Once a staff note has been added, you can edit the note by following the same steps and selecting Edit Staff Note.

Message Clients

You can use Square Messages to message your clients directly from your waitlist to notify them of an opening.

From your online Square Dashboard:

  1. Select Appointments > Waitlist

  2. Find the waitlist entry you want to message and click ••• by the entry.

  3. Select Message.

From your Square Appointments app:

  1. Tap ≡ More > Waitlist.

  2. Select the waitlist entry for the client you want to message.

  3. Tap ••• in the upper left and select Message.

Add a Client to the Waitlist

From your online Square Dashboard: 

  1. Select Appointments > Waitlist.

  2. Select Add

  3. Enter the client details, select the services requested and click Save.

From your Square Appointments app:

  1. Select ≡ More > Waitlist.

  2. If you have no waitlist requests, select Add to waitlist. If you have existing waitlist requests, tap the plus icon (+).

  3. Select Add customer to add an existing customer or create a new customer.

  4. Select Add service and add additional notes, if needed.

  5. Tap Save.

Edit or Remove a Waitlist Entry

From your online Square Dashboard:

  1. Select Appointments > Waitlist.

  2. Find the waitlist entry you want to edit.

  3. Click ••• by the entry and select Edit or Remove

From your Square Appointments app:

  1. Tap ≡ More > Waitlist.

  2. Find and tap the entry you want to edit or remove.

  3. Tap ••• in the top right and select Edit request or Remove

  4. Tap Save to confirm your changes.

Receive Waitlist Notifications

When a client is added to the waitlist, whether through the online booking site or added directly, the client will receive a notification that they’ve successfully been added to the waitlist.

Depending on your notification settings, staff listed on the waitlist entry will also receive a notification that a client has joined the waitlist.

Can't find what you need?