System updates

We’re experiencing issues that may affect your Square services. We’ll continue to update our status page with more information.

Back to Home

Waiting List With Square Appointments

With a Square Appointments Plus or Premium subscription, you can use waiting list to fill schedule gaps caused by last-minute cancellations or reschedules. It also allows you to:

  • Enable popular staff to capture demand from clients who want to book but are hindered by limited availability.

  • Message clients, add staff notes or remove the client from the waiting list.

Note: Client messaging is currently only available in US and Canada.

Enable Waiting List

  1. From your Square Appointments Dashboard, go to Online Booking > Settings.

  2. Under Waiting List, toggle on Enable waiting list on your online booking site. This setting will apply to all locations.

Once the waiting list is enabled, the prompt ‘Don’t see your preferred date or time? Join Waiting List’ will display to clients on your online booking page.

Learn more about creating a Square Online booking site from Appointments.

View Your Waiting List

You can view your full waiting list and waiting list entry details by going to your online Square Dashboard and selecting Appointments > Waiting List

To view your waiting list from the Square Appointments app, select ≡ More > Waiting List

Note: The link and applet will only display for staff that have the ‘Manage all staff calendars’ permission enabled. Learn more about adjusting staff availability and permissions.

Waiting List Details

On the Waiting List page in your online Square Dashboard, you can view waiting list entries for a specific location through the location selector. Once you select a location, you will see a list of waiting list entries with the following:

  • Date added: the date the client was added to the waiting list

  • Client name

  • Service & Staff

  • Duration: total duration of all services

  • Waiting List preferences, which include: 

    • Client notes: notes that the client entered when joining the waiting list through the online booking site

    • Staff notes: notes for staff members

Manage Your Waiting List

Add and Edit Staff Notes

You can add or edit staff notes to communicate client information with staff members.

From your online Square Dashboard:

  1. Select Appointments > Waiting List

  2. Find the waiting list entry you want to edit and click ••• by the entry.

  3. Select Edit.

  4. In the waiting list details, enter your note in the Staff note field.

  5. Click Save.

From your Square Appointments app:

  1. Tap ≡ More > Waiting List.

  2. Find and tap the entry you want to edit.

  3. Tap ••• in the upper left.

  4. Scroll and find the Staff note field and enter your note.

  5. Tap Save.

Once a staff note has been added, you can edit the note by following the same steps and selecting Edit Staff Note.

Add a Client to the Waiting List

From your online Square Dashboard: 

  1. Select Appointments > Waiting List.

  2. Select Add

  3. Enter the client details, select the services requested and click Save.

From your Square Appointments app:

  1. Select ≡ More > Waiting List.

  2. If you have no waiting list requests, select Add to waiting list. If you have existing waiting list requests, tap the plus icon (+).

  3. Select Add customer to add an existing customer or create a new customer.

  4. Select Add service and add additional notes, if needed.

  5. Tap Save.

Edit or Remove a Waiting List Entry

From your online Square Dashboard:

  1. Select Appointments > Waiting List.

  2. Find the waiting list entry you want to edit.

  3. Click ••• by the entry and select Edit or Remove

From your Square Appointments app:

  1. Tap ≡ More > Waiting List.

  2. Find and tap the entry you want to edit or remove.

  3. Tap ••• in the top right and select Edit request or Remove

  4. Tap Save to confirm your changes.

Receive Waiting List Notifications

When a client is added to the waiting list, whether through the online booking site or added directly, the client will receive a notification that they’ve successfully been added to the waiting list.

Depending on your notification settings, staff listed on the waiting list entry will also receive a notification that a client has joined the waiting list.