Square App Subscriptions give you the ability to subscribe to third-party apps through Square. Third-party developers use Square App Subscriptions to make it easy for you to manage subscriptions and tools to run your business through the Square Dashboard.
Not yet. Square App Subscriptions is a new feature, and not all developers have adopted it. As you’re adding new apps in the Square App Marketplace, you’ll find that some apps use Square App Subscriptions and some do not.
Some apps offer subscription options that include free trials. The length of the free trial will be shown in the plan information as you go through the subscription sign-up. After subscribing to a plan with a free trial, it will begin immediately, and you will not be charged for the subscription until the free trial has expired. You will receive an email reminding you that your free trial is expiring 72 hours in advance.
During the free trial period you can cancel at any time from the Pricing & subscriptions section of your online Square Dashboard to avoid being charged for the subscription. Free trials are limited to one trial per app. Once you have used a free trial for an app, any new subscriptions for that app will require payment at sign-up.
When upgrading your plan, you’ll be able to take advantage of the upgraded tier immediately.
What to expect:
Upgrading from a paid plan to a new paid plan: You will be refunded a prorated amount for the remaining days of the current billing period. You will be immediately charged for the new subscription price. Your new billing date (monthly or yearly) is the date of the upgrade. You will receive email confirmations for both the refund and new charge.
Upgrading from a free plan to a paid plan: You will be immediately charged for the new subscription and will continue to be billed based on the cadence of your subscription (monthly or yearly). If the new plan offers a free trial, you will not be charged until the free trial period has ended.
When downgrading, your plan will downgrade at the end of the billing period of your current plan.
What to expect:
Downgrading from a paid plan to a new paid plan: You will be downgraded at the end of the billing period of your current plan and charged for the new subscription at the time of the downgrade. Subsequent charges (monthly or yearly) will occur starting from the date of this adjustment.
Downgrading from a paid plan to a free plan: You will be downgraded at the end of the billing period of your current plan, after which you will no longer be charged.
Cancel Subscription: Selecting this means that you will no longer be able to access the plan at the end of the current billing cycle. You will continue to have access to the app and its connection to Square until the end of the billing period.
Disconnect from Square: Selecting this will cancel the subscription at the end of the billing period. You will retain access to the plan’s paid features until the end of the billing period but will no longer be able to use the app (integration to Square).
Confirm your cancellation > click Done.
Your subscription will be canceled at the end of the billing period.
If you already have a default card or bank on file for Square, you will be able to select that as the payment method for your subscription. You can also input a new credit card payment method from the Pricing & subscriptions section in your online Square Dashboard.
Square does not directly manage refunds for subscriptions to Square App Marketplace apps. Refunds are issued per the refund policy offered by the app developers. To request a refund, you must contact the owner of the application directly. Contact information for each app can be found on each app listing in the Square App Marketplace.