System updates

We’re experiencing issues that may affect your Square services. We’ll continue to update our status page with more information.

Home>Site Items and Categories

Square Online Item Sync

When you first set up Square Online in your Square account, products in your Square Item Library will sync over to your Square Online Overview page. After the initial setup, syncing will continue automatically in the background (with some exceptions).

Learn more below about what does and doesn’t sync between your Square account and Square Online.

What Syncs

Item details

Changes to item descriptions sync between Square Online and your Square Item Library. However, since Square Item Library doesn’t support rich text (e.g. bold, italics and bulleted or numbered lists), you can disable item description sync in order to use rich text styling on your website’s item descriptions. This can help make them clearer and easier to read online.

To disable description sync and add rich text item descriptions to your website:

  1. In your Square Online Overview page, go to Items > Item Sync or Shared Settings > Item Sync.

  2. Under ‘Sync settings’, toggle off Sync item descriptions.

  3. In your Square Online Overview page, go to Items > Site Items to start selecting items and updating their descriptions using rich text.

Primary image

You can sync the primary image for each item between Square Online and Square Item Library. To toggle image sync:

  1. In your Square Online Overview page, go to Items > Item Sync or Shared Settings > Item Sync.

  2. Under ‘Sync settings’, toggle off Sync product images.

Learn more about Product Images in Square Online.

Item variations and modifiers

Items with variations and/or modifiers applied will sync the same as other items. You can add and edit variations or modifiers after an item has already synced, and those changes will sync over to the item in Square Online.

Stock

Inventory decreases automatically in your Square Item Library when customers buy items from Square Online.

If you have multiple locations with stock but only one site in Square Online, then from your Square Online Overview page, go to Items > Item sync. Under Selected Location, you’ll see which location is being used to decrement inventory. You can also change it to a different location from this area.

If you have multiple sites in Square Online and one site assigned to each of your locations, you can confirm the location for each site when you first add the new site to your Square Online account.

Learn more about managing stock in Square Online.

Deleted items

If you want to remove an item from your website without deleting it from Square Item Library, you can mark it as unavailable instead. To do so:

  1. In your Square Online Overview page, go to ItemsSite Items.

  2. Select any amount of items using the tick boxes.

  3. Select Bulk edit > Mark as unavailable.

This will remove the item(s) from your website so they can’t be purchased. If you change your mind later, you can mark them back to Visible using the same method.

Note: Deleting an item in Square Online will also delete it from Square Item Library.

Sales and orders

When customers purchase items from your website, the customer and order information syncs between your Square Online Overview page and your Order Manager in Dashboard and Square POS. You can view and access orders from all of these locations.

Business locations

Location information from your Square account syncs to your Square Online settings. Learn more about managing multiple locations with Square.

What Doesn’t Sync

Categories

The category information from your Square POS doesn’t continuously sync with Square Online; however, categories can be imported one time from your Square POS to Square Online to make initial setup much easier. To import your Square POS categories to Square Online:

  1. In your Square Online Overview page, go to Items > Site Categories.

  2. Select copy over existing Point of Sale categories.

Once imported, categories in Square Online will need to be managed separately from categories in your Square POS.

Vouchers

Square discounts are different from the coupons in Square Online, so they won’t sync. Use the vouchers in Square Online to offer incentives to customers who purchase through your website. Learn more about creating vouchers for Square Online.

Sale prices

Sale prices you set on items in Square Online only apply to purchases made on your website.

Tax and delivery settings

Taxes and delivery for your website will need to be set up in your Square Online Overview page. Learn more about setting up taxes and delivery options.

Troubleshooting

There are a few ways to troubleshoot the item sync feature in Square Online to make sure information between Square Item Library and Square Online stays updated and consistent.

Items

If items in your Square Item Library aren’t appearing in your Square Online Overview page, trigger a re-sync of your items with these steps:

  1. In your Square Item library, check your item variations and be sure there aren’t two or more items with the same name.

  2. If there are (even if these items have different prices or SKUs), you’ll need to differentiate them by adding a ‘.’ (full stop), ‘-’ (dash) or ‘/’ (forward slash) at the end of one name. This will cause items to re-sync.

Individual sync settings

Additionally, you can trigger a re-sync of individual item sync settings with these steps:

  1. In your Square Online Overview page, go to Items > Item Sync or Shared Settings > Item Sync.

  2. Toggle off the ‘Sync settings’ option that needs troubleshooting and toggle it back on.

Doing this is a good option if, for example, you aren’t seeing your primary item images sync properly.

Note: If you use this method to troubleshoot the Sync item descriptions option, be aware that if your item descriptions were first created in Square Online and the Square Item Library descriptions are blank, the empty descriptions in Square Item Library will replace what’s in Square Online. This causes Square Online item descriptions to be blank as well, effectively deleting all of your item information. Use caution when using this troubleshooting method for item descriptions as they can’t be recovered.

Can't find what you need?