System updates

We’re experiencing issues that may affect your Square services. We’ll continue to update our status page with more information.

Back to Home

Customer Accounts for Square Online

Note: Enable customer accounts by upgrading your Square Online subscription.

Customer accounts for Square Online is a buyer-facing feature that provides a more personalized buyer experience and helps drive repeat purchases. When buyers create a customer account, they establish a buyer account with Square that makes it easy to manage their relationship with your online business, including the ability to:

  • Track the status of existing orders

  • Reference past orders and easily reorder their favourites

  • View and edit Square Pay information for a faster checkout experience on future orders

Note: The customer account page will be in the same style as the rest of your website, including colours, fonts and buttons. Learn more about choosing styles for your Square Online site.

Enable Customer Accounts

To enable customer accounts for your Square Online site:

  1. From your Square Online Overview page, go to Settings > Customer Accounts or Shared Settings > Customer Accounts.

  2. Toggle Customer Accounts on.

When enabled, buyers can create a new customer account from your personalized order screen, while checking out, or directly from your site’s navigation menu. When they choose to sign up, they’ll agree to the Square buyer account terms and enter their phone number to receive a challenge code. Once the code is verified, Square will create a new customer account that enables them to log in, start ordering and use Square Pay.

Note: Customer accounts are a Square buyer feature subject to the Square Buyer Account Terms of Use and Square Profile Privacy Notice. If your buyer doesn’t verify their phone number via challenge code, we won’t create the customer account for them.

Buyer Experience

Buyers can manage their customer accounts, as well as their Square Pay and Square profile information, whenever they log in.

Customer accounts

Every time your buyer logs in to their customer account, they’ll be able to perform the following:

  • Confirm their card information by reviewing the last 4 digits of their saved card
  • View the saved address associated with their account
  • View order history from your site since the creation of their account
  • View their order confirmations
  • Reorder previous orders (customers can always edit the order in their cart)
  • Delete their account

Note: At this time, only one payment method can be saved under Square Pay during the checkout process.

Square profile

Square profile interacts with customer accounts and Square Pay. The following are the main actions buyers can take in their profile at profile.squareup.com:

  • View the basic details of their Square Pay card, as well as their associated phone number and shipping address
  • Change which card is their primary card to be used for Square Pay (if they have multiple cards)
  • Add, update, or delete their phone number and email address used for Square Pay (or set a primary one if they have multiple)
  • Add, update, or delete their physical address used for Square Pay (or set a primary one if they have multiple)
  • Delete their Square Profile (requests to delete Square Profiles will also delete all linked Square Pay cards)
  • Delete a specific Square Pay card (deleting a card also makes the deleted card inaccessible and removes it from their Square Pay account)
  • Edit or delete their saved shipping address

Language Settings 

Customer accounts are available to buyers in the language you’ve chosen to publish your site in. This includes any buyer-facing account terms. If your site needs to be in multiple languages, explore our integration with Weglot to start translating your Square Online site automatically.

Disable Customer Accounts

To disable customer accounts for your Square Online site:

  1. From your Square Online Overview page, go to Settings > Customer Accounts or Shared Settings > Customer Accounts.

  2. Toggle Customer Accounts off.

When you disable customer accounts, buyers will no longer be able to view their order history, saved addresses or payment information on your site. Existing customer accounts will be saved and accessible to buyers if you choose to re-enable customer accounts in the future.

Can't find what you need?