From your online Square Dashboard, visit Account & Settings > Business information > Pricing & Subscriptions. Under Subscription Pricing, you’ll see all current subscriptions associated with your account. To unsubscribe, click Manage next to the appropriate subscription.
You’ll also notice the option to pause your subscription. You can pause for up to 3 months and unpause at any time. For Square Payroll, you can keep your account paused for as long as you need. You won’t be billed as long as you don’t send a pay run. You can pause your Payroll subscription for up to 9 months.
You will not be charged for your subscription for the months you have selected to pause unless you resume your subscription. Note: Payroll is an exception: while you will not be charged during a pause, note that your account will automatically unpause when you send a pay run.
You are able to pause ahead of the next month’s billing cycle. When you pause, you will have access to all paid features in your subscription until the end of the month. You are able to resume mid-month. You will regain access to all paid features in your subscription as soon as you resume. You will only be billed a prorated amount for the rest of the month and be charged a monthly fee with the rest of the billing cycle. Below is an example scenario:
Pause subscription on August 15th for 3 months
You will retain access to your subscription’s paid feature until September 1st. On September 1st, your subscription’s paid features will be paused and you will not be billed for September, October, and November, unless you choose to resume during that time period. Your subscription will automatically resume on December 1st.
Resume subscription on September 15th
You will regain access to your subscription’s paid features as soon as you choose to resume on September 15th. You will be billed a prorated amount for your subscription for the rest of September, and be billed your usual monthly fee starting on October 1st.
Cancel subscription on November 15th
Your subscription will be cancelled and will not automatically resume on December 1st.
Note: Square Payroll subscriptions are not prorated, and billing occurs on the first of the following month. When your Square Payroll subscription is paused, your last bill will be applied to your account on the 1st of the following month. Square Payroll subscriptions fees are based on the number of team members paid in a given month. From the following month onward, no base subscription fee will apply to your account but you’ll still retain access to your payroll information.
When you pause your paid Square Appointments subscription, you will retain access to Square Appointments free features. You will be able to access and edit your online booking site, but customers will only be able to book appointments for one provider.
Your customers will still be able to redeem their points, but will no longer be able to accrue them. Points will still expire when the loyalty program is live. While your data is retained for when you resume, you will no longer be able to access loyalty program details, data, and statuses.
All email campaigns will be paused. Your free campaigns will still be available to use. All of your data on reachable contacts, templates, and campaign designs will be available when you resume.
You can pause your subscription for up to 9 months before your subscription automatically resumes. If you send a pay run while your subscription is paused, your subscription will automatically resume. You’ll still retain access to all of your past payroll reports and information. Note: Monthly subscription fees do not apply if your account is set up for paying only 1099 contractors. If your account was set up for W-2 payroll but you are now only paying 1099 contractors, please contact support to update your account status.
You will lose access to the paid features in your Square Online site, but retain access to all the features in the Square Online free tier. More information can be found here.
Square for Restaurants
You will lose access to paid features including Team Plus, reopen closed checks, seat and course management, 86ing, floor plans, as well as shift, close of day, category rollup, and cover and menu reports. You will regain access to these features once you resume.
Square for Retail
You will lose access to Square for Retail’s paid features including unlimited employee profiles, barcode label printing, bulk transfer across locations, COGS tracking and reporting, and vendor and purchase order management. At the point of sale, you will no longer have access to exchanges, cross-location inventory, and PO and bulk stock intake. Your processing rate will also move to 2.6% + 10¢, rather than Square for Retail’s 2.5% + 10¢ rate. You will regain all features when you resume, and no past data will be lost.
Square Team Plus
You will lose access to Team Plus’s paid features including unlimited sets of permissions, multiple wages, sales vs labor reporting, advanced time tracking features (e.g. prevent early break clock-ins), and sales and activity by individual team members.
If you don’t unpause your subscription before your 3 month window, your subscription will automatically unpause after the 3 month window has expired. You can cancel your subscription at any time. For Square Payroll, you can keep your account paused for up to 9 months, and you won’t be billed as long as you don’t process payroll or send a reimbursement-only pay run. If you are unpaused after 9 months, you can re-pause your account if needed.
You can pause all of your subscriptions to Square products. Similar to a cancellation, each pause is managed per individual subscription. For example, if there’s a period in which you’d like to pause Square Marketing but would like to keep using Square for Restaurants, you are able to do so.
From your online Square Dashboard, visit Account & Settings > Business information > Pricing & Subscriptions. Under **Subscription Pricing, you’ll see all current subscriptions associated with your account. To unpause, click Resume subscription next to the appropriate subscription. Note: There is no need to unpause Payroll. Payroll billing will resume when you send a pay run again or automatically after 9 months of your account being paused.