Manage Your Customer Directory from the Square App

Add customer profiles to your directory right from the Square app.

Turn On Customer Management from the Square App

Customer Management is enabled by default, but you can update this at any time from the app. To adjust your settings:

  1. Tap the three horizontal lines in the navigation bar: Three Horizontal Lines
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Tap Customer Management to toggle the feature on or off.

Once this feature is enabled, you’ll see a drop-down arrow in the upper-right corner in landscape view, or after tapping Current Sale in portrait view.

Add Customers and Payments to Your Directory from the Square App

You can add new customers to your directory and link existing customers to a sale directly from the Square app.

Add a New Customer to your Directory

  1. Tap the drop-down arrow in the upper-right > Add Customer.
  2. Tap Create New Customer and enter their information.
  3. Tap Save.

You’ll see your new customer contact appear at the top of the current sale. Once the payment has completed, it’ll be tied to their customer profile.

You can view a list of all your customer profiles from your online Customer Directory, or from the Customers section of the app.

Add an Existing Customer to a Sale

To track your customer’s purchase histories, select an existing customer from your directory and link them to a sale.

  1. On a tablet, tap the drop-down arrow in the upper-right > Add Customer. If you’re using the Square app on a smartphone, tap Current Sale > drop-down arrow > Add Customer.
  2. Start typing your customer’s name in the search bar and tap their name when it appears.
  3. Complete the transaction by processing your customer’s payment.

If you’ve completed a sale and haven’t yet tapped New Sale, you can still add your customer’s contact information. To do so:

  1. From the receipts screen, tap the customer icon in the upper-left.
  2. Enter your customer’s information > tap Save.

If you need to edit the customer added to the sale:

  1. From the receipts screen, tap the customer icon in the upper-left.
  2. Make your changes or tap Confirm Remove Customer from Sale > Save.

Note: Removing a customer from a sale won’t delete them from your directory, but it will prevent them from being linked to that transaction. To remove a customer from your directory, visit your online Square Dashboard or the Customers section of the app on your mobile device.

Upload File Attachments

Add file attachments to your customers’ profiles in-app to keep records, contracts, documents or photos.

To upload a file:

  1. Select a customer from your directory.
  2. Tap the Upload File button.
  3. Choose to either take a photo or select an image from your device photo gallery. Note: Only upload files you have the rights to use. Files cannot be larger than 20MB. Supported file types: .pdf .gif .jpg .jpeg .png..
  4. Upload File.

Once uploaded, click the three-dotted actions menu to the right of the file to Download, Rename, Preview, or Delete.

A customer profile can contain up to 100 files. Merging two customer profiles also merges any files attached to them.

Learn how to upload files to customer profiles from your online Square Dashboard.

Manage Your Customer Directory from the Square App

You can view and manage your customer contacts without having to go to your online dashboard. To do so, open the app:

  1. Tap the following icon: Three Horizontal Lines
  2. Tap Customers.
  3. Tap an existing customer to edit their contact information or delete them from your directory. Tap Create Customer to add a new contact. Tap Create Group to customise how you organise your contacts.

Manage Team Access to Customer Information in the Square App

With Team Management, you can control which team members have access to customer information in the app and your Square Dashboard. Set up team members and their permissions in your online Square dashboard.

Team members who have the Manage Customers permission enabled will be able to create, edit, and view customer profiles without entering their passcode. Team members without the permission will be presented with a passcode entry screen so that someone with permission can enter their passcode to grant temporary access.