System updates

We’re experiencing issues that may affect your Square services. We’ll continue to update our status page with more information.

Home>Accept Payments

Get Started with Subscriptions in Dashboard

Keep track of all your subscription plans and subscribers – right from your Square Dashboard. With Subscriptions, you can create and manage plans and add new customers to subscriptions all in one place.

Create a plan  

  1. From your Square Dashboard , go to Payments > Subscriptions > Plans.

  2. Click Create plan to add your plan details.

  3. In Name, create a title for your plan.

  4. Add the price for your plan and how frequently you will charge your subscribers.

  5. If your plan will end, set an endpoint, such as after a certain number of billing cycles. If you want your plan to be continuous, set it to Never.

  6. If you want to include a free trial in your plan, toggle on Free trial and set how long you want your free trial to last.

  7. You can allow customers to subscribe to the plan via a checkout link. Toggle on Subscribe online  to create a checkout link you can share with your customers through email, social media, text message or your website.

  8. If you want to allow yourself or customers to pause subscriptions, toggle on Pause Subscriptions. Set a pause duration limit. Choose No limit or By billing cycle.

  9. Tap Save to finish creating your plan.

Your new plan will now show up under Plans in the Subscriptions section of Square Dashboard. If you toggled on "Subscribe online," select the link icon to copy the online subscription link you can send to your customers.

Duplicate or deactivate a plan

From your Plans page, you can duplicate a subscription or turn off any plans. You can also share the checkout link with your customers to make it even easier for them to subscribe.

Duplicate a plan

  1. Go to Payments > Subscriptions > Plans in your Square Dashboard.
  2. Find the plan that you want to duplicate and click the more options icon (. . .) for that plan.
  3. Select Duplicate plan.
  4. Review the plan details and make any changes if needed.
  5. Click Save.

Deactivate a plan

  1. Go to Payments > Subscriptions > Plans in your Square Dashboard.
  2. Find the plan you want to deactivate, and click the more options icon (. . .) for that plan.
  3. Select Deactivate plan.
  4. A window will pop up to confirm the plan that you want to deactivate. To continue, click Deactivate plan.

Note: Existing subscriptions to a deactivated plan will not be affected and will continue to renew until the existing subscriptions are cancelled.

Create a Subscription

You can add an existing customer to a subscription plan or create a new customer to add to the plan. 

To create a subscription:

  1. From your Square Dashboard, go to Payments > Subscriptions > Create a subscription.

2. In the Customer field, select an existing customer from your Customer Directory or enter a new customer name.

  • If you add an existing customer, their Subscriber details will automatically load.

  • If you create a new customer, enter their email address and phone number in the Subscriber details.

3. Under Plan details, click Add plan and select the subscription plan you want to add the customer to. If you want to add VAT to the subscription, click Add VAT then Save.

4. Add the Billing details. Select the location for the subscription and the payment method.

  • For existing customers, you can select from their saved cards on file or add a new card.

  • For new customers, enter their card details.

5. Review all the subscription details and click Start to begin your customer's subscription.

Manage subscriptions

Once you create a plan, you can start adding customers to it as subscribers. You can view all your subscriptions – active, paused and cancelled – from Subscriptions in your Square Dashboard. You can search subscriptions by customer name for quick access.

View or edit a subscription

  1. Go to Payments > Subscriptions in your Square Dashboard.
  2. Click on the subscription that you want to view to open the subscription details.
  3. In the subscription details, you can edit any notes by clicking Notes > Edit or click Update to update the customer’s card on file.

Pause a subscription

  1. From Payments > Subscriptions, click on the subscription that you want to pause.
  2. Click the more options icon (…) on the Subscription detail view and select Pause subscription.
  3. Choose to pause the subscription Indefinitely or By billing cycle.
  4. To confirm your selection, click Save.

Your customer will receive a notification that the subscription has been paused. The subscription status will change from Pause Scheduled to Paused at the end of the current billing cycle.

Resume a subscription

  1. From Payments > Subscriptions, click on the subscription that you want to resume.
  2. Click the more options icon (…) on the Subscription detail view and select Resume subscription.
  3. Choose to resume the subscription Immediately or On the next billing date.
  4. To confirm your selection, click Save.

Your customer will receive a notification when the subscription resumes, and their subscription status will show as Active.

Cancel a subscription

  1. From Payments > Subscriptions, click on the subscription that you want to cancel.
  2. Under the subscription details, click Cancel subscription at the bottom of Subscription Detail view.
  3. To confirm the cancellation, click Cancel subscription > Done.

Your customer will receive a notification that the subscription has been cancelled. The subscription status will now show as Cancelled in your Dashboard.

Note: Your customers can manage their subscriptions, including pausing, resuming or cancelling a subscription, by clicking the Manage Subscription link included in all subscription notification emails.