System updates

We’re experiencing issues that may affect your Square services. We’ll continue to update our status page with more information.

Back to Home

Square Shifts Pricing Update

Starting July 13, 2023, Shifts Plus monthly subscription price is changing. Square Shifts will be based on the total number of team members listed in the team list in the Team Members section of your online Square Dashboard, including the account owner.

This increase won’t be reflected on your account until your first bill is created after July 13. For most sellers, this will be reflected in your August 1st bill. Depending on your current team size and subscription, you will be charged based on the pricing tiers listed below. If you are currently subscribed to Shifts Free and have 5 team members, you will be above the 5 team member cap for the free tier once this change goes into effect and need to subscribe to a Shifts Plus subscription before July 13 to maintain access to features like time tracking, scheduling, and payroll prep. 

Subscription Pricing

Shifts Free

Includes basic time tracking, scheduling, and labor reporting.

  • Free for up to 5 team members listed on the team list, including account owners.

Shifts Plus

Advanced time tracking, scheduling, tip management, and labor reporting. Subscribers will be charged for a minimum of two team members, including the account owner.

  • 1-10 employees: $4/mo per team member

  • 11-20 employees: $3.50/mo per team member

  • 21-50 employees: $3.00/mo per team member

  • 51+ employees: $2.50/mo per team member

Note: Shifts Plus subscribers will be billed a minimum of two team members, starting at $8 a month.

You are charged based on the total number of team members listed on the team list, including the account owner. As a reminder, you can deactivate any inactive team members or any team members that don't need access to Square.

Deactivate a Team Member

If a team member leaves your business, either permanently or temporarily, you can deactivate their profile. To deactivate a team member profile:

  1. Log in to your online Square Dashboard and click Staff > Team > Team Members.

  2. Select a team member profile.

  3. Click the three-dotted actions dropdown menu > Deactivate Team Member > Confirm.

Note: Your team member’s information will not be lost or deleted once they are deactivated, and they can be reactivated at any time.

Learn more about Square Shifts pricing and features and getting started with Square Shifts in our Support Center.