Home>Features & Settings

Deactivate Team Members from Square Payroll

You can deactivate employees and contractors from Square Payroll and, if needed, provide them with a final paycheck. These individuals will no longer appear on the Run Payroll screen, making it easier for you to run payroll and manage your business.

Issue Final Paycheck

If you need to issue a final paycheck to your employee immediately, you can send an off-cycle payment before removing the employee from payroll. If you need to pay the employee immediately you can select “manual check” as payment method and handwrite or print a check.

If you need to issue a final paycheck and have already removed the employee from payroll, simply re-activate their employee account, send an off-cycle payment and remove them from payroll again.

Note: Depending on the circumstances, you may be responsible for providing your employees with a check for their final wages on their last day of work. Read more about final wages from your state labor office.

Deactivate Team Members From Square Payroll

To deactivate an employee or contractor from your Square Payroll Team list:

  1. Go to Payroll Team in the Payroll section of your online Square Dashboard.
  2. Select the individual you would like to deactivate from Square Payroll.
  3. Unclick the Employee and/or Contractor Employment Type box.
  4. Click Confirm Deactivation.

Reactivate a Team Member in Square Payroll

Team members who were previously deactivated can be reactivated in Square Payroll. You do not need to create a new profile when the team member returns and doing so may create duplicate entries in Square Payroll. Learn more about reactivating employees and contractors.

Learn more about: Payroll

Still need help? Learn from our Seller Community

Visit the Seller Community