System updates

We’re experiencing issues that may affect your Square services. We’ll continue to update our status page with more information.

Home>Getting Started With Square

Choose a Business Type for Your Square Account

A Merchant Category Code (MCC) is a four-digit number used by credit card companies to classify a business by the goods and services it provides. When activating a Square Point of Sale account, you will set your MCC by selecting a business type. Your MCC code should directly reflect the type of business that you conduct, especially because it can influence card acceptance.

For example, a seller in the accommodations industry should select the Merchant Category Code: Tourism 4722 as Hotel and Lodging is not an available MCC with Square.

Square will also use this information to provide you with the best features to help grow your specific business. If you’re not a business, you can state that you’re using Square as an individual or you can select a specific business type to best reflect the goods or services you provide.

If you’re having trouble accepting payment cards and you believe it’s because your business is incorrectly classified, contact Square Support for assistance.

Learn more about: Payment Processing

Can't find what you need?