System updates

We’re experiencing issues that may affect your Square services. We’ll continue to update our status page with more information.

Home>Getting Started With Square

Choose a Business Type for Your Square Account

Find a POS designed just for your business.

Download the Square Point of Sale app free today, right on your phone or tablet.

A Merchant Category Code (MCC) is a four-digit number used by credit card companies to classify a business by the goods and services it provides. When activating a Square Point of Sale account, you have the option to set your MCC by selecting a business type. Your MCC code should directly reflect the type of business that you conduct, especially because it can influence card acceptance. For example, a veterinary clinic should select the merchant category code Veterinary Services.

If you’re not a business, you can state that you’re using Square as an individual or you can select a specific business type to best reflect the goods or services you provide.

If you’re having trouble accepting payment cards and you believe it’s because your business is incorrectly classified, contact us for assistance.

Learn more about: Payment Processing

Can't find what you need?