Recursos para la COVID-19

What You Need to Know About Delaware’s Minimum Wage

As always, to make sure your business is prepared and stays in compliance, we recommend that you discuss these upcoming changes to minimum wage laws in Delaware with your accountant and lawyer. This article does not constitute legal advice.

It seems as if minimum wage is on the rise across the country. But with so many changing laws on the federal, state and local levels, it can get confusing about what’s actually happening where you live and work.

We’ve got you covered on what’s happening next in Delaware and what you need to do as a small business owner to be prepared.

What is the minimum wage in Delaware?

The Delaware minimum wage is $8.75, $1.50 higher than the federal minimum wage. However, for the first 90 days on a new job, adults over the age of 18 years old may be paid $8.25 as a training wage. Workers between the ages of 14 and 17 have a minimum wage of $8.25.

For employees who receive tips in Delaware, the minimum wage is $2.23. This is the first time Delaware has introduced a multitiered minimum wage.

Get Started with Square Payroll

Payroll processing trusted by thousands.

Will Delaware’s minimum wage change in 2019?

Delaware’s minimum just increased to $8.75 an hour on January 1, 2019. But, there is more change to come this year.

On October 1, it will rise to $9.25. This is a part of a planned two-step increase to help ease the transition.

Are there plans to change the minimum wage beyond 2019?

There are no formal plans to increase the minimum wage in Delaware after the October 1 rise to $9.25.

However, a proposal to increase Delaware’s minimum wage to $15 is seeing some light. The Delaware Senate Labor Committee released a bill for consideration to the full Senate after long public hearings with criticism against the proposal.