Most Square Cash payments are completed instantly and can’t be cancelled. The only time a payment can be cancelled is when the person you sent the payment to doesn’t use Square Cash yet. If the person you sent the payment to already uses Cash, your payment can’t be cancelled, but you can request the money back from them.
To check if a payment can be cancelled:
- Open the Cash app > tap the clock icon at the top-right corner.
- Select the person you sent the payment to from the list > tap the payment in question.
- If you’re given the option at the bottom of the screen, tap Cancel Payment > Ok.
Note: If you don’t see the option to cancel the payment, this means it has been completed and can no longer be cancelled. A request for the same amount will have to be sent to the person who received the payment.
After you cancel a payment, the money will be returned to your bank account in 1-2 business days. If you made the payment with money in your Cash app, the canceled payment will be refunded instantly.
If you accidentally sent a payment to the wrong person and they’re not using Cash yet, you can either cancel it or request the same amount back.
Cash sent to a closed bank account or cancelled debit card isn’t lost, but several things could happen. Learn about the possible scenarios and solutions in our Square Cash Troubleshooting article.
If the person you’ve sent a payment to no longer uses or deleted the Cash app, they may have received the funds if their debit card is still linked to their account. Deleting the Cash app doesn’t automatically unlink a debit card. The recipient of the funds can reinstall the Cash app and either cash out or return the funds.
If you’re unable to resolve the matter with the person you sent cash to or believe you’ve been the victim of fraud, please contact your card-issuing bank for assistance.
If you want to check the status of any payment, you can view your transaction activity in-app.